DUI is a serious criminal charge, with equally serious consequences. Even a first-time offense carries the possibility of jail time. If this is your second or third DUI charge, the penalties are even harsher.
What A DUI Arrest Can Mean For You
In Georgia, the penalties for a DUI conviction can mean:
- First time — Up to one year in jail, fines up to $1,000, community service, one-year loss of license
- Second time — Up to one year in jail, fines up to $1,000, driver's license suspension up to three years, community service, alcohol education class, possible installation of an interlock ignition device on your vehicle
- Third (felony) offense — Up to five years in prison with a mandatory 90-day sentence, fines up to $5,000, alcohol education program, community service, five-year license suspension, probation
One of the biggest consequences of a drunk driving conviction is the permanent mark it will leave on your record. A conviction — especially a felony — will limit your life opportunities and may make it hard to find a job, housing or gain entry into college or graduate school.
At Closson, Bass & Tomberlin, we will fight your DUI charges. Our primary goal is this: to get results. Whether through negotiation with the prosecution or trial, we work to get you the best outcome possible.
Don't talk to police without an attorney present, and don't wait to get legal advice. Contact our firm today at 229-269-4947 or 888-878-0491.
Contact A DUI Lawyer Today
If you've been charged with a DUI, police and prosecutors are already building a case against you. Start working on your defense today. Call our Valdosta, Georgia, law office at 229-269-4947 or 888-878-0491, or email us to schedule your free consultation.